Skip to content

Broccoli Chicken Casserole

June 4, 2013

photo2

I LOVE anything that involves broccoli, chicken and cheese.  One of my most frequent meals is my broccoli chicken and rice casserole which I posted 4 years ago on my blogspot site (you can find that recipe by clicking here).  This recipe, however, is my latest favorite as I have tried to slowly cut back on carbs.  It is super easy and everyone will enjoy it!

This recipe comes from my mother-in-law and I have to admit that I never enjoyed it when she made it as I strongly dislike curry, but I just omit the curry and now it is perfect in my opinion.  I made a double batch this Sunday so I would have enough to take to work for lunches this week.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz package of frozen chopped broccoli, thawed and drained
  • 4 to 6 cooked chicken breasts
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup (I use the healthy choice or 98% fat free versions)
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder (I omit)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • Bread crumbs (I used panko and have considered using crumbled Ritz crackers)
  • Butter/margarine (just enough for the bread crumbs)

Directions:

  • Grease a casserole dish. Place broccoli on bottom of dish. Pull apart cooked chicken breasts (or chop) and place on top of broccoli.
  • In a small bowl, stir together soup, mayo, curry (if using) and salt. Spread evenly on top of chicken breast.
  • Sprinkle cheese and buttered bread crumbs on top.
  • Bake at 375 for 35 minutes.

photo

One Comment leave one →
  1. De French permalink
    June 4, 2013 8:26 pm

    Emily, I make this but I add rice as well. I got this recipe from a Family Night Supper at Wekiva Presbyterian Church in the last ’70’s. Mrs. Westmoreland brought it to the dinner. Rocky was like 4 and Lauriann 8 :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

