Skip to content

Tater Tot Casserole

April 7, 2010

This recipe comes from my mother-in-law Jerrie. Thank goodness I married Kris because half of what I blog about comes from Jerrie’s kitchen! It is the perfect side dish for spring and summer bbqs, especially since it can be made in the microwave so your house doesn’t get hot.  It reminds me of the hashbrown casserole at Cracker Barrel, and I supposed you could even substitute hashbrowns for tater tots.

Tater Tot Casserole

Ingredients:

1 2lb bag frozen tater tots
1/2 c butter or margarine (I typically eliminate this or use 1 or 2 tablespoons)
1 onion, chopped
1 can cream of mushroom or chicken soup (I use 98% fat free)
8 oz sour cream
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
Dill weed
Paprika

Directions:

1. Place butter in 2 qt glass baking dish; microwave to melt. Stir in onion, cover and microwave 1.5 to 2 minutes
2. Combine onion with remaining ingredients, except spices.3. Sprinkle top with paprika and dill weed.4. Cover and microwave on high 12 to 15 minutes.
5. If making in oven instead of microwave – saute the onion in the butter then compile as above. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes or until hot and bubbly.


One Comment leave one →
  1. Jerrie permalink
    April 7, 2010 12:44 pm

    What a priviledge to be mentioned on your first recipe at the new site. I do love that recipe I served it to my fellow bootcampers. Though it’s not exactly low cal they all loved it I’m glad you married Kris too

Leave a Reply

