Skip to content

Wet Tacos

April 25, 2010

This recipe comes from my Aunt Sally (dad’s sister) in California. The first time I had wet tacos was when I went to visit during my spring break sophomore year of high school. I think before I went my dad must have warned her that I was a picky eater, but I told them I’m happy with pretty much anything other than fish. We spent the week seeing the sights in L.A. and of course eating. I’m not sure how, but somehow the majority of my meals ended up being mexican. It wasn’t intentional, but at the same time the mexican food there is SO GOOD. Needless to say the running joke in my family now is that I only eat mexican food.

Back to the recipe – this is an extremely easy meal, perfect for a quick home-made weeknight dinner. It is tailored to each person by adding what taco toppings you like, so pile them on or eat it plain. This is also a great dish for making extra to have for leftovers and I believe it freezes well. I hope you give it a try, or even adapt it into your own mexican lasagna.

Wet Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef (I use the leanest I can find)
  • 1 can refried beans (I use fat free)
  • 1 28 oz can enchilada sauce
  • Corn tortillas
  • Taco toppings – lettuce, tomato, onion, cheese, sour cream, etc

Directions:

  • Brown beef (add some onion for flavor if you have it). I always drain and rinse my meat a little to try to make it as lean as possible.
  • Stir in refried beans.
  • Add enchilada sauce.
  • Once the mixture is hot it is ready to serve, but you can simmer on low heat for a while to let the flavors develop.

Assembly:

  • Place corn tortilla directly into mixture and press down so it is fully submerged.  Let it sit a minute or so to get warmed and soft.
  • Scoop onto plate
  • Repeat for how many layers you want. A couple options are to do them one by one and put toppings between the tortillas, or to put 2 or 3 tortillas in the mixture at the same time and just garnish the top.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 9:27 am

    These look good and easy. I made enchiladas once at it too hours. I like making Mexican-ish food at home.

Leave a Reply

