Skip to content

Mean Spirited Censorship Pie/Kentucky Horse Race Pie/Derby Dessert

April 27, 2010

Funny story….I received notice from WordPress that they received a complaint from a law firm representing Kern’s Kitchen, a bakery in Louisville, Kentucky. Kern’s Kitchen claims ownership of the trademark on “Derby Pie” and alleges that the recipe I published on this site infringes on their trademark. They have been quite aggressive over the years in enforcing this trademark – suing restaurants and food companies…and now apparently moving on to websites.

Per the suggestion of WordPress, my pie is now to be called the Mean Spirited Censorship Pie.  I hope everyone gives it a try someday as this recipe must be the real thing…just like my mom told me!

Mean Spirited Censorship Pie

Ingredients:

1 c sugar
1 c brown sugar
1 c flour
3 eggs
1 stick butter (melted)
2 T bourbon (I use vanilla instead)
6 oz chocolate chips
1 c broken pecans

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325.
2. Beat eggs. Add in sugars and mix.
3. Add in remaining ingredients and combine well.
4. Divide between 2 pie shells
5. Bake for 1 hour – cover with foil if the pies start to brown, because a top layer will develop before the whole pie is set
6. If you want to make mini pies (using either tart shells or pie crusts in a muffin tin), bake for 30 min.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2013 8:36 pm

    I will have to try this one out. I hope that you don’t mind if I shared this one. It sounds yummy.

  2. May 8, 2013 3:07 am

    What size pie tins does this assume? Sorry if that’s a daft seeming question – I give there could be a standard US pie size in the way that confused Europeans say ‘But how big a cup?’

    • May 11, 2013 12:42 am

      I am not positive but I think a 9 inch pie plate is standard in the US. I will double check!

  3. Marcy permalink
    May 8, 2013 4:00 pm

    What an awesome name for this dessert!

  4. May 8, 2013 11:14 pm

    Somehow I think it’d taste better if Kern’s Kitchen were made to eat some legal fees & we could enjoy your non-pie named however you’d like.

  5. May 11, 2013 1:39 pm

    My new favorite pie! I wasn’t interested in making it when it was Derby Pie. I’d much rather have this version ;)

  6. May 14, 2013 7:51 pm

    i had to read the recipe to find out what derby pie was (coming from oz here). OK, pecan pie with chocolate chips, huh. toot sweet!

  7. Average American permalink
    May 14, 2013 10:00 pm

    I’m a regular customer. I plan on taking my business elsewhere and plan on making a Darby pie for my restaurant.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

