Skip to content

Chocolate Gooey Cake

June 3, 2010

I LOVE Paula Deen! I started watching her on the food network while in college and made a trip to her restaurant while Kris and I were in Savannah for his formal weekend. My mom and I also stalked her while we were at the National Book Festival last fall and got pretty close! The picture above was from my phone so not the best quality, but good enough! My pics of just Paula were too dark, but you gotta love Michael as well. 🙂

I usually have my own spin on most of Paula’s recipes as they are often something my mom or grandmothers have made for years. I know she is not the first person to make gooey bars, but she made them popular again. I enjoy making the chocolate recipe as a substitute for brownies. They are perfect cut up as a bar to eat on their own, or served warm with ice cream. My mom started making pumpkin gooey bars at Thanksgiving in lieu of pumpkin pie – so go ahead and experiment and see which one is your favorite.

As you can see I have no pictures to accompany this post, as I did not make them! I am trying hard to be good and I figured I could go ahead and share this recipe without ruining my diet.

Chocolate Gooey Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks butter, melted but keep separate (this alone is why I didn’t bake them this time!)
  • 1 chocolate cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 8 oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 4 T cocoa powder
  • 1 16 oz box powdered sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 13×9 baking dish.
  • In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, 1 egg, and 1 stick of melted butter. Mixture will be very thick. Press into bottom of greased pan.
  • Now beat the cream cheese with an electric mixer until smooth. Add in the 2 remaining eggs and cocoa powder. Slowly add in the box of powdered sugar and mix well.
  • Once ingredients are combined, add in the second stick of melted butter and the vanilla extract. Continue to mix until smooth.
  • Pour cream cheese filling over the cake mix already in pan.
  • Bake for 40-50 minutes but try to not overbake. It should still be a little gooey when taking out of oven, but not runny.

Thoughts on the butter:

I definitely think this is a recipe that you could eliminate some of the butter from. Maybe try dividing one stick for the whole recipe – mix half into the cake mix and half into the cream cheese. I haven’t tried so I can’t say, but I think the recipe would hold up with less. So if you are planning to eat the whole pan yourself, I recommend reducing the butter. If you are going to serve it to others with no leftovers, might as well make it the right way…you know Paula would approve. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 8:48 pm

    OOoh did you meet Paula Deen? Also those bars sound really good.

    • June 4, 2010 10:09 am

      I did not meet her, just stood very close. 🙂 I have a friend that met her in the grocery store though.

Trackbacks

  1. Peanut Butter Chocolate Gooey Cake « It All Started With Mac And Cheese
  2. It All Started With Mac And Cheese

Leave a Reply

