Skip to content

Lemon Chess Cheesecake Pies

June 8, 2010

I can’t believe it is already the second week of June! Growing up my brothers and I lived in the pool all summer. I probably learned to swim before I learned to walk. It wasn’t until college that I learned pools open on Memorial Day and close on Labor Day…what can I say I am a born and raised Floridian!

As I was trying to think of a dessert to bring to our friends’ house for dinner this past weekend, I started thinking about summer and lemonade popped in my head. Then I remembered this lemon pie recipe that I hadn’t made in ages. I believe it came from a Southern Living magazine a while ago.  It is a deliciously smooth and creamy lemon cheesecake pie that you must try! The recipe makes two pies so there is plenty to share.

I want to digress for a minute though and talk about my pie plate. We received this as a wedding gift and it is my favorite pie plate (although I just received another one from a cousin with our name and wedding date engraved that I love too…so hard to pick favorites). The pie plate is from Rose Levy Beranbaum and it makes your crust look gorgeous. The plate is designed for you to just press the crust in the edges for a perfect scalloped edge. I have only used it to make apple pies so far and they always turn out perfect. This time however, my pie crust shrank a little as you have to prebake. I always seem to have a little trouble with the prebake crusts and they often fall down the sides on me…there must be a trick I don’t know (I prick the sides but maybe I should try pie weights??).  I highly recommend the pie plate though despite my not-so-perfect crust this time. 🙂

Lemon Chess Cheesecake Pies

Ingredients:

  • 2 piecrusts (refrigerated)
  • 2 8oz packages cream cheese, softened
  • ½ c sugar
  • 1 egg
  • Lemon Chess Pie Filling

Lemon Chess Pie Filling

Ingredients:

  • 2 c sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • ¼ c butter, melted
  • ¼ c milk
  • 1 T lemon rind
  • ¼ c lemon juice
  • 1 T all purpose flour
  • 1 T cornmeal (I usually omit as I never have any on hand)
  • ¼ t salt

Directions:

  • Bake piecrusts until lightly golden brown according to package and allow to cool
  • Preheat oven to 350
  • In one bowl, beat cream cheese, egg, and sugar until smooth
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together all ingredients for the lemon chess filling
  • Spread cream cheese mixture evenly over pie crusts
  • Top with Lemon Chess Pie Filling
  • Bake for 35 minutes or until set. You may need to cover the crust if it starts to get too dark.
  • Allow to cool and then refrigerate to chill – dust with powdered sugar to serve

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 2:35 pm

    I love lemon stuff. That looks very refreshing.

Leave a Reply

