Skip to content

Red Velvet Cheesecake Layer Cake

June 11, 2010

Today is Valerie’s birthday…everyone wish her a big Happy Birthday! Val and I were talking last night about how funny our friendship is. We have known each other since preschool but never became friends until we connected while studying for the bar exam. It is funny how things like that happen and I am so thankful we are friends now! Val is such a positive influence and is always motivating me to dream bigger, especially when it comes to jobs and baking.

Since today is Valerie’s birthday I couldn’t let it go by without a birthday treat! She is my friend that loves cupcakes that I’ve talked about in my older posts and red velvet is her favorite cake (or at least in her top favs). I decided it was time to try out my idea of layering red velvet cake with cheesecake and see what happens. I delivered it to Val last night and made her cut a piece while I was there so I could take a pic (crazy food blogger). Well I think it turned out to be a success, although I’m nervous the bottom layer of cake will be obsolete by the end of the day due to the weight of the cheesecakes.

I used my tried and true recipe for red velvet cake and coupled it with a new cheesecake recipe I found over at She’s Becoming Doughmesstic. Susan, the blog author, swore that this cheesecake never cracks, burns, etc and mine baked perfectly! I made it in 2 8in cake pans instead of springform pans, with parchment at the bottom. I was too nervous to go without the parchment, but Susan swears they will shake right out. Give it a try if you dare! I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to add frosting to the layers as well, so I just did  a very thin spread on the cakes to help with keeping the cheesecakes on there…for some reason I was nervous they would slip off. Top it all off with cream cheese frosting and you have a red velvet cheesecake layer cake (I need a better name)! I tried to go with the “rustic” icing look but I think it just sort of looked sloppy…it is the taste that matters. Don’t you wish you worked at Valerie’s office because that is where the cake was heading today!!

Red Velvet Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter, room temp
  • 1 ½ c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 T heaping cocoa
  • 2 oz red food coloring
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 2 ½ c flour (sift before measuring, then sift again with salt into cake)
  • ½ t salt
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 t soda
  • 1 T white vinegar

Directions:

  • Cream butter with sugar until fluffy; add eggs and mix
  • Make a paste of the food coloring and cocoa; add to batter in mixing bowl and mix
  • Add buttermilk alternately with sifted flour and salt
  • Add vanilla
  • Add soda to vinegar in a cup to make a foam; blend into batter
  • Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes in 2 round 9″ cake pans (or cupcakes). This time I used 8″ cake pans and I think it took closer to 35 min – I like that size much better as it makes it just a little thicker and better for layering.
  • Cool well before frosting

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 8 oz package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 stick butter, room temp
  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • Vanilla extract (as much or as little as you like)

Directions:

  • Whip together cream cheese and butter
  • Add in powdered sugar and vanilla and whip until creamy
  • Use a little milk if you need to thin it out, but it should eventually come together nicely without
  • **I doubled this for my cake and ended up have a little leftover – I made the mistake of making the single batch first and had to send my husband out for more cream cheese. Double especially if you are just making cake with frosting as you will need extra for layers.

She’s Becoming Doughmesstic’s Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Ingredients:

  • 4 8oz packages of cream cheese, room temp
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
  • 1 split Vanilla Bean, scraped (I used vanilla bean paste instead, just use extra extract if you don’t have these)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350. Grease/butter either a 9″ springform pan or whatever pans you are using. I used 2 8″ cake pans to get 2 layers, and actually ended up with a little batter leftover I made into a 6″ cake. If using springform pan, wrap outside tightly with aluminum foil so it is waterproof.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine 1 8oz package cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar and cornstarch. Mix on low speed until creamy. While mixer is on low, add in remaining 3 packages of cream cheese.
  • Increase mixer speed and add in the remaining 1 1/4 c sugar, then beat in vanillas, salt, sour cream and heavy cream.
  • Add in eggs one at a time and beat batter only until completely blended. Try not to overbeat (but I never know if I am or not).
  • Pour batter into prepared pans. Place your springform/cake pan inside a larger baking pan (roaster, 13×9, etc) and fill with hot water that comes about halfway up the springform pan.
  • Bake cheesecake until it is not jiggly and the top may be slightly browned (mine weren’t brown at all), about 1 hour 15 min. My two 8″ pans and one 6″ took about 50-55 min.
  • Allow to cool in oven with door propped open. Once cool, cover cake with plastic wrap and refrigerate – at least 4 hours or overnight.

This cake sounds like it was a lot of trouble, but it was really fun to make. I made the red velvet on Tuesday night, then stuck it in the freezer to keep. I made the cheesecakes on Wednesday and refrigerated overnight and all day Thurs. I then assembled everything Thurs and delivered to the bday girl! Here’s a pic of Val with her cake (I got her approval to be on the blog haha).

UPDATE! I was watching the new Georgetown Cupcake reality tv show and learned they use apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar in their RV cake…I will definitely give that a try next time!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 10:56 am

    OMG I love this. That looks awesome. So you just layered the cakes with the cheese cakes? I love recipes that combo two awesome things.

  2. June 11, 2010 11:27 am

    OH WOW!! that loos & sounds AMAZING!! Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  3. Mother permalink
    June 11, 2010 12:47 pm

    Looks wonderful-both Valerie and cake.

  4. June 11, 2010 1:11 pm

    Looks fantastic! I hope they loved your work, glad I could help!

  5. Valerie permalink
    June 11, 2010 3:01 pm

    The cake is AMAZING and it looks gorgeous sitting on my desk! You are such a wonderful friend! Love, Val

  6. brandi a permalink
    June 11, 2010 3:13 pm

    This looks incredible Emily! I’m going to have to try it ASAP! Love you sweet friend!

  7. lisa permalink
    June 11, 2010 3:51 pm

    yum yum yum!

  8. Eric permalink
    June 11, 2010 4:05 pm

    I’d get a reverse stomach surgery just to have one bite. Looks good. Call your brother (the older, wiser and better looking one) sometime.

  9. June 12, 2010 6:56 am

    That looks so amazing! The icing is perfect, you did achieved that rustic look. And oh my, the layering of red velvet cake and cheesecake is simply mouthwatering. I will definitely try this one. I just hope mine will look as gorgeous as yours! Thanks for sharing this by the way.

  10. Rick permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:40 am

    This cake looks amazing, I’m going to ask Becky to try and make it!

Trackbacks

  1. Red Velvet Gooey Cake | It All Started With Mac And Cheese

Leave a Reply

