Skip to content

Oreo Ice Cream Dessert

June 18, 2010

Growing up, my family and at least 2 others  would celebrate the Fourth of July and New Years Eve together. We started making this dessert and it became synonymous with those holidays. I believe it originated with Mrs. Voorhees (Lemon Bars post) and my mom started making it and we could not get enough.

The recipe morphed from using vanilla ice cream (my brother’s favorite) to mint chocolate chip ice cream (my fav). I am a mint chocolate chip (MCC) snob and only like the green kind with the chocolate shavings, not chocolate chunks. I haven’t made this dessert in recent years because I haven’t lived near a Publix grocery store, whose store brand is the ultimate MCC ice cream. Baskin Robbins version is great, but it is just too expensive. I recently discovered that the grocery store Shoppers in the NOVA/DC area has a store brand that is perfect…and only $2.50 for a half gallon! I bet you never knew someone could write so much about MCC ice cream…did I mention it is my favorite?! My brother and I still argue over which version is best…as long as I am making it there will always be a MCC center.  I do have to admit though when using the vanilla it tastes like a big oreo cookie.

During high school I made this dessert for a party and my group of guy friends loved it. I started making it for all of their birthdays, parties, etc. When I think of this dessert now I think of them. This is what brought me to making it this week. One of my high school friends lives about 10 minutes away from me (and I still never see him) and another is coming to visit this weekend. I am heading out-of-town tonight but the hostess in me wanted to make the ice cream dessert for them to enjoy in my absence.  I think the recurring theme of this blog is….don’t you wish you were my friend?

The ice cream dessert is very simple to make, it just takes a little longer because you need to freeze each layer before adding the next. My mom used to take 2 days to make this, but I rush and make it in just an hour or so now, but always try to do the night before so it has time to fully freeze before serving. I hope you try it this summer…especially since it does not require heating up an oven!

Oreo Ice Cream Dessert

Ingredients:

  • Oreos (I think I used about  3/4 of package and often use store brand when making a crust)
  • 1/2 to 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 jar of hot fudge (room temp)
  • 1/2 gallon of ice cream (or whatever the large size is these days)
  • 1 container of cool whip (use the original version – not light or fat free)

Directions:

  • You will need a 13×9 pan that can go in freezer; if you don’t have the room for that size just scale the amounts down a little
  • Take your carton of ice cream and set it out to soften.
  • Crush up oreos in food processor or in a ziploc bag with a rolling pin then add to pan. Use as many or as little as you want to get the desired thickness.
  • Stir in melted butter. I start with 1/2 stick and then add more if needed. You just need it moist enough so they will stick together and press down into pan. The more butter you use the harder it will freeze and therefore the more difficult it is to cut.
  • Once you have pressed the crust in the pan, place in freezer. Let it freeze for at least 10 minutes while you work on your ice cream layer.
  • Take your softened ice cream and add to large mixing bowl. Using a large spoon/spatula stir it around to make it soft, smooth and spreadable.
  • Spread ice cream on top of cookie crust. Place back in freezer and allow to harden for at least 20 min.
  • Once the ice cream layer has frozen up a little, spread your jar of hot fudge on top. This is often the most difficult step as the hot fudge seizes up once hitting the cold. Just do your best and work fast as you will see the top layer of ice cream starting to melt. Place back in freezer for at least 15 min.
  • The last step is to spread the Cool Whip on top, then garnish with crushed cookies.
  • Freeze overnight or at least a few hours before serving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    June 18, 2010 4:19 pm

    My favorite too!! I need to make one this summer. And I’ll have to make it with MCC ice cream to ensure my husband won’t eat it all (he doesn’t like MCC). MUhahahahha!!

  2. June 20, 2010 10:10 am

    That looks awesome. I think I’m pro-mint chocolate chip vs vanilla. Also you won my blog giveaway. http://makingstuffisfun.blogspot.com/2010/06/making-dreams-come-true-bliveaway.html

  3. Tom permalink
    June 28, 2010 9:56 pm

    I simply think the vanilla ice cream makes it more like a large frozen delectable Oreo. Whereas, the Mint, or MCC as it appears to be called in the foodie blog-a-sphere, overpowers the wonderful ensemble of flavors and detracts from the overall Oreoness of the dessert.

  4. July 4, 2010 7:49 am

    I agree with Thomas, vanilla is the way to go. I make a no sugar added version of it these days with the sugar free Murrays cookies (just like an oreo), sugar free cool whip, some of my unflavored protein powder and Breyers no sugar added ice cream. The cookies definately taste different from real oreos, so no way to fool Dad, but everyone else seems to like it.

Leave a Reply

