Skip to content

Strawberry Cheesecake Layer Cake

July 24, 2010

My friend Alla is leaving our office to start law school this fall. For her going away party she got to pick what dessert she wanted and requested a strawberry cake with cheesecake. Since I had just experimented with the red velvet cheesecake I was excited to make another version. This time I made just 2 layers of cake and one of cheesecake. I was worried that the strawberry cake wasn’t strong enough to hold the weight of cheesecake when divided into thin layers. The bottom layer held up pretty well, but I would recommend trying to stack and serve it in the same day. When Kris got to eat his piece later that night I could tell the bottom cake layer was sinking (and I had stacked and iced the cake in the morning before work). I think we have a winning combination here so I hope you try it. Believe it or not I successfully avoided eating a piece!!!

Strawberry Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 boxed white cake mix
  • 1 3oz box strawberry gelatin
  • 1 15oz package frozen strawberries in syrup, thawed and pureed (I couldn’t find ones in “syrup” but found them labeled “sweetened”)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 1/4 c water

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Combine cake mix and strawberry gelatin.
  • Add in the pureed strawberries, eggs, oil, and water and mix until combined and smooth
  • Divide evenly between 2 cake pans. I used 8 in and they took maybe 40 to 45 minutes to bake. I had set my time for 30 minutes and then kept adding time when they weren’t done.

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Ingredients:

  • 4 8oz packages of cream cheese, room temp
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla extract
  • 1 split Vanilla Bean, scraped (I used vanilla bean paste instead, just use extra extract if you don’t have these)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350. Grease/butter either a 9″ springform pan or whatever pans you are using. I used 2 8″ cake pans to get 2 layers, and actually ended up with a little batter leftover I made into a 6″ cake. If using springform pan, wrap outside tightly with aluminum foil so it is waterproof.
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine 1 8oz package cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar and cornstarch. Mix on low speed until creamy. While mixer is on low, add in remaining 3 packages of cream cheese.
  • Increase mixer speed and add in the remaining 1 1/4 c sugar, then beat in vanillas, salt, sour cream and heavy cream.
  • Add in eggs one at a time and beat batter only until completely blended. Try not to overbeat (but I never know if I am or not).
  • Pour batter into prepared pans. Place your springform/cake pan inside a larger baking pan (roaster, 13×9, etc) and fill with hot water that comes about halfway up the springform pan.
  • Bake cheesecake until it is not jiggly and the top may be slightly browned (mine weren’t brown at all), about 1 hour 15 min. My two 8 in cake pans took 1 hour.
  • Allow to cool in oven with door propped open. Once cool, cover cake with plastic wrap and refrigerate – at least 4 hours or overnight.

I frosted the cakes with cream cheese frosting, and just put a very thin layer on the inside layers so the cakes sealed with the cheesecake.

Here’s Alla with her cake!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 9:04 am

    Nice, that looks really good. I might try making a strawberry cake like that sometimes. I don’t really like the strawberry flavored box mixes. This sounds better.

Trackbacks

  1. It All Started With Mac And Cheese

Leave a Reply

