Skip to content

Short Ribs

July 26, 2010

I recently went out for a wine/dinner night with a group of friends and I ordered the short ribs. It was my first time eating short ribs and let me tell you, they were so delicious I could not get them off my mind. I decided I would try to make them and set off on a search for a recipe that would produce something similar to the restaurant. I found a recipe on Smitten Kitchen and used it as a starting point (and didn’t alter it very much). Since we were having a major heat wave in DC I wanted to try them out in the crockpot in order to cut back on the heat the oven would produce. Plus, I don’t have a dutch oven yet…but it is on my list of things to buy.

I found that the short ribs were sort of pricey so if you see them on sale make sure to buy and freeze for whenever you want to try this. I should’ve bought the big Costco pack but wasn’t sure if my attempt at making them would even be edible so I went with buying smaller portions at the grocery store.  Next time I make them I will experiment by maybe adding less wine and more stock, or possibly an onion soup package plus I think it needs something to add a touch of sweetness. I will also do this in a 2 day process instead of one. I really wanted to let the liquid chill so I could skim the fat off the top and then have time to reduce it so it was thicker but just ran out of time. The final taste and texture was pretty good, but Kris kept saying it was like pot roast so maybe I won’t waste my $$ on short ribs again…we’ll see.

Have you ever made short ribs? If you have a recipe you want to share send it my way!

Beef Short Ribs (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:

  • 6 boneless beef short ribs
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1/2 c carrots, diced
  • 1/2 c celery, diced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 1/2 c red wine
  • 7 1/2 to 8  cups beef stock
  • Kosher salt
  • Pepper
  • 2-3 T Olive oil

Directions:

  • Remove ribs from refrigerator about an hour before you start so they come to room temperature. Season with kosher salt and pepper.
  • Heat your fry pan or dutch oven on high for a few minutes to get hot. Add olive oil and let it heat up.
  • Place short ribs in the pan and brown on all sides. This is where I got nervous the smoke alarms were going to go off. Apparently my new all clad pans get really hot. If yours do this too I was able to remove the pan from the heat for a while and it still browned them perfectly and I added it back with a medium-high heat.
  • When the ribs are browned, this step should take at least 15 min but maybe longer, remove from pan to a plate to rest.
  • Drain any excess oil from the pan. Add in onion, celery, carrots and bay leaves. Saute at medium heat and stir to scrap up any meaty remnants in the pan. Cook until just starting to get soft and caramelize.
  • Add in balsamic vinegar and red wine. Turn heat up to high and reduce liquid to 1/2 or 1/3.
  • Add the beef stock and bring to a boil. If you are doing this in a dutch oven, add ribs back to the pot and then cook covered in a 425 degree oven for 3 hours.
  • I put my ribs in the crockpot and poured my liquid over the meat. I cooked the ribs on the high 4 hour option on the crockpot. When they were done I poked them with a knife and it gave easily to meat. I started doing this after a couple hours and wasn’t sure if it was “giving” to the meat. They should be just about ready to fall apart and you will sort of know when the knife goes in with no resistance.
  • **This is where I will stop next time and finish the rest the following day** If stopping, refrigerate everything. The next day, skim all fat from the top and then bring back to a simmer in the crockpot or oven to heat everything up.
  • Remove the ribs from the crockpot and place on a baking sheet. Allow to rest a few minutes. If you aren’t doing the 2 day process – allow the stock to chill so you can remove fat.
  • I ended up using the sauce as is, but next time I think I will transfer it to a saucepan and boil on stovetop to reduce the sauce and make it thicker. I would also consider running it through a food processor or blender to puree the veggies in the sauce. The recipe I was following called for removing the veggies but I left them in. Definitely remove the bay leaves though.
  • Before you are ready to serve, heat your oven to 400 degrees and place ribs in the oven for 10 to 15 minutes to brown. They will get dark but not crusty, or at least mine didn’t.
  • Serve with mashed potatoes or whatever you desire!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 12:35 pm

    Those look really good. I think I have had beef short ribs only once and it was at a restaurant. It seemed like something that would be way too hard for me to make. Your look tasty though.

  2. Becky permalink
    July 22, 2011 10:47 pm

    Publix has a cookbook called “aprons” and they have a short ribs recipe. I made it once and it was great!

Leave a Reply

