Skip to content

Guest post and Hobo Pie

August 15, 2010

I have my first guest blogger! Granted he is family, but my oldest brother Eric is having the biggest life journey right now. He has an amazing success story after having weight loss surgery and has been asked to write a blog about his experiences. Check out his blog! Now I hand over the reins….

Eric’s Hobo Pie

There is much debate among the women in my family about who came up with this fantastic (and easy to make) dessert recipe.  Aunt Sally and Aunt Mary Jane make it for my diabetic relatives in California and my Mom and Sister claim it came from our longtime neighbor in Florida, Aunt Donna.  All I know is add a few scoops of Pure unflavored protein powder, change all the ingredients to sugar free, and this Hobo pie is a nice treat that includes protein and calcium that everyone enjoys.

Since today is my wife’s birthday, I’ll be making another one.  She does not really have a sweet tooth and many desserts are too rich for her.  However, Hobo pie is one of her favorites because it’s so light and fluffy – a refreshing treat in this 90+ degree August weather.  The cream cheese, cool whip and pudding give creaminess easy enough for any pouch to tolerate.  The pecans bring just the right additional flavor to the crust.  Off to the kitchen to get started.

Happy Birthday, Jana!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup self-rising flour (can substitute almond, soy or wheat flower)
  • 1 stick butter- melted
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans
  • 8 oz cream cheese (softened)
  • 2 cups sugar free cool whip
  • ½ cup Splenda
  • 1 small package sugar-free chocolate pudding mix
  • 1 small package sugar-free vanilla pudding mix
  • 3 Cups fat free milk
  • 3 scoops Pure unflavored protein powder (optional)

Directions:

  • For the crust, blend together flour, butter and pecans. Press in the bottom of a 9″ pie plate.
  • Bake at 350 for 20 minutes until light brown and then let cool. I like to turn the oven off after the 20 min and leave the crust in the oven to brown longer – just don’t let it burn.
  • In a mixing bowl, mix together cream cheese, cool whip and Splenda. This is where I add in 3 scoops of Pure unflavored protein powder. Spread on top of cooled pie crust.
  • In a second bowl, beat together chocolate and vanilla puddings with 3 cups of milk. Spread on top of the cream cheese mixture.
  • Top with additional cool whip.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Donna permalink
    August 15, 2010 5:21 pm

    I’d hate to have your wonderful blog shut down for having given credit for MY old family reciepe to some of your other imposter Aunts! Your Mom is correct, in that I gave it to her 100+ years ago, and I’m eager to try it with the sugar free ingredients and the protein powder.

    Happy Birthday, Jana!! Hugs, Aunt Donna

    • August 15, 2010 7:22 pm

      I would just like to comment that this was ERIC’s blog post…not mine. I did not give credit to anyone haha.

  2. Val permalink
    August 16, 2010 10:23 am

    I love the inclusion of the protein powder–that is creative! Will definitely have to try this out!

  3. August 18, 2010 12:50 pm

    I really enjoy most things that are made with pudding a coolwhip. This reminds me of something my mom makes but she uses Lemon pudding.

Leave a Reply

