Skip to content

UK Logo Cookies – might just be my longest post ever!

August 27, 2010

I made these cookies for my cousin’s wedding this weekend. His fiance said she didn’t have a groom’s cake for him and asked if I could do some UK cookies.  I was super nervous about how they would turn out but I have to say I am pretty proud of myself. The UK letters don’t look as good up close as they do in pictures, but good enough!! I tried to take step by step pictures to show you my process of decorating cookies so here it goes.

First, through the baking blogs I read I learned a new way to roll out cookie dough without all the floury mess and without having to wait for the dough to chill. Once you are done mixing the dough get some sheets of wax paper and then roll out the dough between the sheets. I usually do it in 4 or 5 batches.

Then lay the sheets on a baking tray or cutting board and stick in the freezer for 30 minutes. After that you can keep them freezing or they are ready to be cut and baked. Super easy!! I did have to add a little more flour to my recipe though as I found the cookies were spreading more while baking – mainly because I had to add a ton of flour before to keep them from sticking. I started with a 1/2 cup but I just baked circles this time so couldn’t really tell if they spread. I might try adding another 1/2 cup next time. I usually try to bake my cookies a day before I plan to start decorating. You can do them in advance and freeze the cookies (and you can freeze them after they are decorated as well).  When it is time to cut out your cookies, make sure you loosen the wax paper on both sides or the dough will stick to it. Take any scraps you have after cutting and re-roll between the sheets and re-freeze.

My next process was to get the UK logos done. Since I am horrible at freehand drawing, I discovered I could print designs out, put the image under wax paper and then trace with the royal icing on the wax paper. I thought I was so smart developing this method and then I realized other people do it too – oh well! I did always enjoy the tracing books when I was little. Here is my UK logo process – I drew the outer lines with a thicker icing and then filled it in with the “flood” icing. Same idea for when you do the base layer of icing on the cookies. Let them dry overnight.

The next day I then take my cookies and put the base layer of icing on. Before I used royal icing for this but I think it tastes gross so I found a blogger who adapted my mom’s old powdered sugar and milk frosting by adding corn syrup and it works just like the royal icing does. I really like how it improves the taste of the cookie and will post the recipe below. It doesn’t dry as quickly as the royal  so make sure to let it dry overnight but more likely 24 hours. Start out with the frosting being pretty thick in order to pipe a border around the edge of your cookie. Then use milk to think out the frosting a little so you can spread it inside and let it set. I used a squeeze bottle for the thinner frosting as to keep the mess down. There is a great new blog called The University of Cookie that posts videos on how to do all of these steps! It also has Amanda doing a video to show this frosting recipe along with the other ladies who use royal icing.

Sorry for all the different background photos! I had cookies resting on different cutting boards etc and would remember to take pics at random times. At this point of filing in the frosting I worked one cookie at a time and after I spread the frosting out and popped any bubbles with a toothpick, I carefully removed the UK from the wax paper. The best way is to take a small offset spatula and carefully run it under the design. I have just peeled things off with my fingers before but I found that causes many more breaks. Once you’ve removed the design, then place it on top of the wet frosting. This way the UK fully sticks to the cookie. Always pipe extra designs as you will inevitably break a few during this process. I thought I was going to run out at one point and was very stressed as I didn’t have time to make more.

Once you have the UK on, just let the cookies dry at least an hour or two for the frosting to initially harden on the surface. I would prefer overnight but I was time crunched. I then went back with my thick edge frosting and piped a circle around the edge and then sprinkled sanding sugar on top for it to stick and give a more finished look. You can skip this step if you want.It is hard to see the sugar in these pics since it is clear on white, and I’m a horrible photographer.

After the cookies were fully dry (overnight) I then placed them in individual bags and for extra precaution since I am traveling with them, stuck them in the freezer to harden up.

This is my decorating process in a nutshell. I don’t always do the step I used for making the UK logo on other designs if I think I can freehand it. I just don’t like to risk ruining cookies that I have baked and then taken the time to fill the base icing as that in and of itself is time consuming. I think these cookies (50 total) took me 12-13 hours (but I had to bake and do the UK piping in one day as I didn’t think ahead).Now lets just hope I get through airport security with my cookies and they arrive unbroken!! I’ve had bad luck with wedding cookies so far so need these to survive!

Don’t let my crazy process deter you from making decorated cookies! I am just a perfectionist so I go the extra mile. I feel bad for any future children I may have when it comes to decorating cookies for Santa!!!

White Velvet Cut Outs

Ingredients:

  • 1 8oz package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1 lb unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 c. sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 5 c flour ** might add more – still experimenting

Directions:

  • Beat together cream cheese and butter
  • Add sugar, egg yolks, and vanilla
  • Add flour and mix thoroughly
  • Roll dough on wax paper or parchment paper sheets and then stick to freeze for at least 30 minutes, but can keep a while in freezer if you don’t plan to bake right away. Here is the link to the blog where I got this tip from – it is so much better than my old flour on the counter and roll out method!!!!
  • Bake 10-15 minutes (depending how thick your cookies are) at 350 or until edges start to brown
  • Cool cookies prior to decorating (note: cookies aren’t that tasty out of the oven, so hold off until you frost them)

Tasty Icing (from Amanda at I am Baker)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Confectioners Sugar (powder sugar)
  • 1 Tablespoon Milk
  • 1 drop Lemon Juice (fresh or processed)
  • 1 Tablespoon Light Corn Syrup

Directions:

  • Combine sugar, corn syrup, and lemon juice in bowl.
  • Add milk little by little depending on what consistency you are going for. If you need it thick for outlining just add milk a drop at a time. If you need it thinner for filling then add a little more. This is sort of a trial by error process and you can always add more powdered sugar if you added too much milk.
  • If you want a shinier cookie add more corn syrup.
  • You can also add flavors like vanilla or almond extract instead of lemon. Keep in mind if you want a white frosting though the extracts may tint it so either stay away or buy the clear kind at baking stores.

Royal Icing

Ingredients:

  • 4 TBSP meringue powder
  • 1/2 c. water (or just shy – “scant” 1/2 cup)
  • 1 lb. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp light corn syrup
  • few drops flavoring

Directions:

  • Combine meringue powder with water. With paddle attachment on the stand mixer beat until frothy.
  • Sift in powdered sugar and beat on low to combine. Some say to never skip the sifting but I definitely cut corners most always. Sometimes I stir my powdered sugar with a whisk in lieu of sifting.
  • Add in corn syrup and extracts/lemon juice – both optional.
  • Increase mixer speed to medium or medium high and beat for 5 minutes until stiff peaks form
  • Use the stiff icing for outlining (add a little water if it is too thick) and then to get the flooding/filling icing add water little by little to thin out

***You can also do royal icing with egg whites – just use 2 egg whites and no water in lieu of the meringue powder. Check out marthastewart.com for her royal icing tips.

Post-wedding note: don’t make logo cookies when one of your other family members is an attorney for the school that enforces trademark infringement! Don’t worry, I got her verbal permission. haha

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 10:54 am

    Wow those are very impressive. I think I lack the patience involved in making these. They look really good though.

  2. Kim permalink
    September 1, 2010 1:15 pm

    These are awesome!

  3. Amy permalink
    September 1, 2010 8:44 pm

    Very impressive! I appreciate the long blog and the detailed steps, so maybe I can attempt to make some.

Leave a Reply

