Skip to content

Berry Cobbler

September 9, 2010

I am not a cobbler fan but still enjoy making them! It is a good excuse for me to satisfy my baking bug and not be tempted to eat the product!! Prior to yesterday, I had only made peach cobblers which were always a success. I had some frozen berries in my freezer and in an attempt to make more freezer space, I decided they needed to be eaten and I would experiment with a berry cobbler. I used blackberries and strawberries but I think you can just about put any fruit together in this simple recipe. The fruit smelled amazing as I was cooking it on the stovetop and even better coming out of the oven. My mom says this is the recipe my grandmother used to make cobblers so it has to be good right? Feel free to adjust the sugar amount you add to the fruit depending on your tastes – and use fresh ripe fruit if you have it but the frozen worked great for us.

Berry Cobbler

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of fruit (use for a peach or berry version)
  • 2 cups sugar (I have made a peach one using splenda that turned out well)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 1/2 c self rising flour
  • 1 1/2 c milk

Directions:

  • Combine fruit, water and 1 cup sugar in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer for 10 minutes then remove from heat. I should’ve left out the water since my fruit had ice frozen with it in the packages but still used the 1/2 cup – just made the cobbler a little runnier.
  • In your baking dish – using a deep dish casserole pan or souffle dish, place the butter in the dish and stick in the oven to melt.
  • Combine the remaining 1 cup sugar, flour and milk and whisk to remove clumps.
  • Once the butter is melted, remove from oven and pour the flour mixture over the butter. DO NOT STIR
  • Spoon the fruit on top and add all of the juices.
  • Bake at 350 for 30 to 45 minutes. The batter will rise to the top and become a golden brown. Mine took 45 minutes to fully cook.
  • Once it comes out of the oven the cakey part will be puffy and then will shrink down as it cools
  • Serve warm with vanilla ice cream

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 11:15 am

    It looks heavenly. And that scoop of ice cream is the perfect accompaniment.

  2. September 13, 2010 9:36 am

    OK I made a very similar cobbler this weekend but with peaches. I got it from a Paula Deen recipe. My topping was sort of a weird texture but still very tasty. I used skim milk b/c that’s what I had. What milk did you use with yours?

    • September 13, 2010 10:55 am

      I always use skim milk even though I’m sure you are supposed to use fattier ones. The Paula Deen recipe is the exact same and I had only done peach before in the past. I’m not a cobbler person but Kris seemed to enjoy it. I think I would try more a crumb/crisp topping next time with the berries.

      • September 14, 2010 11:57 am

        yeah I like the cobbler but I also like a crispy topping so a crumble type thing would probably be good.

  3. September 14, 2010 2:01 am

    trying to follow you on twitter but cant find your name

Leave a Reply

