Skip to content

Apple Crumb Pie

September 12, 2010

This is a second time around post since I updated to wordpress and I wanted to share it again. I decided that this weekend was going to be Thanksgiving in September. With the cooler weather I had a craving for turkey and the fixings. I figured it would be a good idea to make Kris an apple pie since I would have the oven hot. He never turns down an apple pie and will always pitch in and do the apple part for me. 🙂

I hope you find yourself making an apple pie this fall!

Apple Crumb Pie

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups of thinly sliced apples (I love our apple tool that cores, peels and slices the apples perfectly)
  • 1/3 to 2/3 c granulated sugar (depending on your apples…I often opt for the full amount of sugar)
  • 1/4 c all purpose flour
  • 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ground nutmeg
  • Dash of salt
  • Pie crust (make your own or go with the easy Pillsbury crusts in the refrigerator section)
  • 1 stick butter (cold, not room temp)
  • 1/2 c packed brown sugar
  • 1 c all purpose flour

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 425
  • Combine apples with granulated sugar, 1/4 c flour, and spices.
  • Line pie plate with crust. Fill with apple mixture trying to fill in any holes.
  • For crumb topping, mix together 1 c flour and brown sugar. Cut in butter so that it remains crumbly. I did this in my mini food processor today and it worked great.
  • Put pie plate on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper (the juices will bubble out so this will help with cleaning). Top the apples with the crumb topping trying to cover the entire pie.
  • Bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, cover pie with foil and continue to bake for 20 minutes.
  • Let cool to room temp or until it is still slightly warm so the pie can set up a bit. Serve with vanilla ice cream.

Leave a Reply

