Skip to content

Anne’s Banana Bread

September 20, 2010

I LOVE banana bread! I think there is nothing better than hot out of the oven banana bread (or muffins). During my sophomore year of college my friend Anne brought us individual loaves of banana bread. I was surprised when I learned she put chocolate chips in her recipe, which I must admit I thought it was a little odd. I am a traditional banana bread lover, just plain and no nuts, but one bite of Anne’s chocolate chip loaf and I was in heaven. Anne’s recipe quickly became my go-to recipe for banana bread. I most recently used her recipe for a traditional loaf, but I encourage you to be adventurous and try your banana bread with chocolate chips.

**After I posted this my mom felt that she didn’t get credit for baking banana bread for us growing up. My mom makes a mean banana bread too, however I don’t have her recipe to share. ha Love you mom!

Anne’s Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (3 large)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325. Grease and flour four mini loaf pans.
  • In medium bowl, combine flour, soda and salt.
  • In large bowl, beat bananas with electric mixer until mashed and somewhat smooth. Beat in sugar, oil and eggs at medium speed until blended.
  • At low speed mix in flour mixture until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Pour into loaf pans.
  • Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  • Remove from oven and allow to cool. Wrap in plastic wrap and then in foil. Refrigerate before serving.

My adaptations:

  • I often just bake one regular sized loaf instead of the mini ones, or even a combination of a mini loaf and a regular loaf (which I did this time to give a mini away and keep the regular for myself). Depending on your oven you may need to extend the baking time closer to an hour for a large loaf…just keep an eye on it and cover with foil if getting too brown on top.
  • If making a traditional loaf (i.e. no choc chips) sprinkle the top with cinnamon sugar prior to baking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

