Skip to content

Kris’ Steak and Potatoes Dinner

September 24, 2010

Yesterday Kris told me he was making dinner but would not reveal what we were eating. That makes me a little nervous as I obviously like control in the kitchen. He told me it was beef and I knew the only thing we had in the freezer was ground beef so I knew 2 things he knew how to make – tacos and meatballs. Well I got home and he had green beans on the stove so I knew it couldn’t be tacos or meatballs. Turns out he had bought steaks and hid them from me when he did a grocery run the night before to get something sweet to eat. We never have steak since we live in a condo and don’t have a grill, so it is definitely a rare occasion for us. He was just going to cook the steaks in our grill pan, but I suggested he try them under the broiler now that we have new all-clad pans that can go in the oven. The steaks turned out great – very flavorful and cooked much better than the times I have tried with our grill pan. I exercised portion control and only ate the filet side, Kris however did not. ha Since Kris did not want to be a “guest blogger” I am providing the details. 🙂

Steak Marinade

Ingredients:

  • 1 part Olive Oil
  • 2 parts Worcestershire
  • Seasoning salt
  • Black pepper
  • Basil (I use the jarred dry but if you have fresh I’m sure that would be good too)
  • Garlic powder
  • Meat tenderizer

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients together. I would say maybe 1 T of each of the dry ingredients? We sort of just add them and don’t really measure.
  • Let steaks marinade for a few hours or even overnight in the fridge.

Broiling Steaks

Directions:

  • In a large skillet that is either stainless steel or cast iron (don’t use nonstick) coat with oil (we used Pam spray) and heat pan over high heat.
  • Sear steaks over high heat on both sides – about 30 seconds on each side. MAKE SURE TO HAVE YOUR VENT TURNED ON!
  • Place skillet in the oven under the broiler (or heat oven to 500). Our rack was in the middle of the oven. Keep your vent turned on as they will probably still smoke some.
  • Broil for about 3-4 minutes then flip the steaks and continue to broil 3-4 more minutes. This should be for a medium or medium-well steak (depending on the thickness) but check for doneness with a meat thermometer or the high tech way of cutting into it to see if it is how you like it (my preferred method).
  • Let rest for a couple minutes then enjoy!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    September 24, 2010 11:54 am

    We have broiled steak in the oven too since we live in an apt! I don’t even sear ours because our micro doesn’t vent…just churns the smoke around. So delicious! Love how the marinade sounds!

Leave a Reply

