Skip to content

Fat Witch Brownies

September 27, 2010

This weekend I was looking for something new to try to get my baking fix. I thought about hopping on the latest trend and making some whoopie pies, but I decided I needed to save them for when baking for others as I certainly didn’t need 2 dozen of those sitting around. Instead I opted for brownies as I am on a mission to find the perfect brownie recipe. I decided a while back I would keep searching for an amazing scratch brownie recipe, but have been holding off on experimenting as I didn’t want the temptation. I read about the Fat Witch Bakery in NYC  and they supposedly have amazing brownies and blondies…they even made one of Oprah’s favorite lists. Lucky for us they also recently published a cookbook so I decided to try the Fat Witch Brownie recipe.

It was very easy to make and has a good flavor, although the consistency varies greatly between an edge piece and a middle piece. The edges were pretty cakey, and the middle turned pretty gooey – almost as if I should cook it a tiny bit longer. Does anyone know why this happens and what I need to do for even baking?? I did use a glass baking dish and wonder if that could be a contributing factor. I think I will continue my pursuit as I don’t deem this to be the perfect brownie, but maybe it will be for you! I’m ashamed to admit that I think it is hard to beat a boxed brownie mix!

P.S. I was good and only ate one small square!

Fat Witch Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 14 Tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons ubleached flour
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Grease a 9-inch baking pan with butter. Dust with flour and tap out the excess. Preheat the oven to 350 F.
  • Melt the butter and chocolate in a small saucepan over low heat, stirring frequently. Set aside to cool while you prepare the next step. I did this in the microwave – melted the butter a little first, then added the chocolate and heated for 1 minute then stirred to make sure everything was melted.
  • Cream the sugar, eggs, and vanilla together. Add the cooled chocolate mixture and mix until well blended.
  • Measure the flour and salt and then sift together directly into the chocolate mixture. Mix the batter gently until well combined and no trace of the dry ingredients remains. (If you are using salted butter don’t add more salt)
  • Spread the batter evenly in the prepared baking pan and bake 33 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean or with crumbs but not batter. (Mine came out not very even on top for some reason…who knows why)
  • Remove from the oven and let cool for an hour. I stuck mine in the fridge after cooling as I love a cold brownie!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 6:52 pm

    I just removed my first batch from the oven and waiting semi-patiently for them to cool. Can’t wait! I even went out and got a 9×9 pan just for this cookbook. 🙂

    • September 28, 2010 9:21 am

      I had a 9×9 pan but it was in use. I hope yours turn out well! I had one last night after being in the fridge for 24 hours and I must say it was much better being fully cooled, but still disappointed my edge pieces were overcooked – maybe it was that I used a glass pan.

Leave a Reply

