Skip to content

Squash Casserole

October 19, 2010

I have to admit I was skeptical of this dish the very first time Kris’ mom made it, but I think it was because it had mushrooms in it. Now she leaves out the mushrooms and it is DELICIOUS! It is a perfect side dish or even the main course, especially if you have vegetarian family members like we do. πŸ™‚ I made this over the weekend so I would have leftovers to bring to work for lunch…it is equally as good or maybe better reheated.

I did try to eliminate the butter when I made it the first time and there was just something not right about it, but it was still good. It is much better with the butter but isn’t everything?

Squash Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 red peppers, chopped
  • 4 yellow squash, chopped
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed
  • 2 t cayenne pepper (I probably added 1 t or less as I don’t like a lot of spice)
  • 2 t cumin
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 cups grated white cheddar (I used maybe 2 cups of regular cheddar as it was what I had)
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

  • Saute butter, onion, red pepper and squash together.
  • When onions become translucent, add in cumin and cayenne pepper and saute a few more minutes. Stir in black beans.
  • In a small bowl whisk eggs. When veggies are done, remove from heat and stir in eggs and cheddar cheese.
  • Transfer to a large baking dish and top with parmesan cheese.
  • Bake at 350 for 30 to 45 minutes (I did 30 min).

I love my ghost and jack-o-lantern spatulas so figured since it was October they could make an appearance. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

