Skip to content

Breakfast Egg Casserole

November 9, 2010

I love this dish but never make it because I can’t bring myself to cook real breakfast sausage due to the fat. I debated alternatives and considered trying a soy sausage product, but just wasn’t willing to go there yet. I was looking at turkey sausage options and it turns out Jimmy Dean doesn’t sell a roll of turkey sausage yet they have these new bags of pre-cooked sausage crumbles with a turkey option. By using these crumbles I avoided having to brown meat, drain it, clean the pan, etc! It was delicious and I think I could fool even my father with this turkey sausage as it had the same Jimmy Dean taste.

Keep this casserole in mind for your holiday entertaining as you put it together the night before and bake in the morning.

Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb breakfast sausage, browned (I used about half of the pre-cooked crumbles)
  • 2 to 3 slices of bread
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • 7 to 8 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 t dry mustard (I didn’t have it so left it out)
  • Dash of pepper

Directions:

  • Brown sausage and drain
  • Cube bread and add to a lightly greased 8 1/2 x 11 casserole dish
  • Layer sausage and cheese over the bread
  • Whisk together eggs (I used 7), milk, salt, pepper and mustard then pour over sausage/cheese/bread
  • Cover and refrigerate ovenight
  • Bake covered at 350 for 40 minutes, then remove cover and bake 5 to 10 minutes longer

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany Taggart permalink
    November 9, 2010 8:09 am

    Trying it this weekend! Thanks 🙂

    • November 9, 2010 7:08 pm

      Hey Bethany! Let me know if you like it. 🙂 Hope all is well!!

Leave a Reply

