Skip to content

Red Velvet Mini Cupcakes

December 15, 2010

Since I posted on Facebook yesterday that I baked 165 mini cupcakes this weekend, many have emailed me about recipes! I made my family’s Red Velvet recipe  along with Strawberry Cupcakes. I’ve posted both on my old blog, but figured I would add the Red Velvet to this one just in time for your holiday baking.

I changed up my Red Velvet recipe ever so slightly this time. Instead of using white vinegar, I substituted apple cider vinegar as that is what I read the Georgetown Cupcake ladies use. I think they turned out well or probably even tasted the same but I didn’t taste test them because I needed every last one for the party.

Next up: I may attempt a sugar-free Red Velvet recipe for my brother’s birthday as this is his favorite cake. Plus he’s been in South Korea for 2 months now so he needs some cake love.

Red Velvet Mini Cupcakes (yields approximately 75 minis)

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 ½ c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 T heaping cocoa
  • 2 oz red food coloring
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 2 ½ c flour (sift before measuring, then sift again with salt into cake)
  • ½ t salt
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 t soda
  • 1 T white vinegar (or apple cider)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350. Line mini muffin tins with liners (Martha Stewart says to use brown liners for chocolate and white for vanilla cakes. I finally found the brown liners at a local cake store so I used them for Red Velvet since that is what the bakeries do – I think they look pretty)
  • Cream butter with sugar until fluffy; add eggs and mix
  • Make a paste of the food coloring and cocoa; add to batter in mixing bowl and mix
  • Add buttermilk alternately with sifted flour and salt
  • Add vanilla
  • Add soda to vinegar in a cup to make a foam; blend into batter
  • Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full. I transfer my batter to a large ziploc bag to fill cupcakes – so much easier and faster!!!
  • Bake for 12-13 minutes (if baking cake – will make 2 8 or 9 inch rounds, and bake for 25 to 30 minutes)
  • Cool well before frosting

Note: I know there is a science in bringing a full cake recipe down to a cupcake version, but I am not that smart so I just left it as is.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 1 8oz block of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • 1 T vanilla

Directions:

  • Cream butter and cream cheese together. Beat for a few minutes until light and fluffy.
  • Slowly add in powdered sugar. Beat on medium high speed for about 5 minutes to make frosting extra light.
  • Add in vanilla.

*You will probably need to double recipe for one cake and definitely for cupcakes

I know I’ve explained this before, but I never had Red Velvet Cake with cream cheese frosting until I moved to D.C. The cream cheese frosting is so easy and it is what most people expect so I don’t normally bother with this version. If you want to try what my mom calls the “real Red Velvet frosting” here is the recipe!

The Real Red Velvet Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 2 T flour
  • 1 c milk
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 t vanilla

Directions:

  • Cook flour and milk together in microwave on 2 minute intervals until very thick, stirring frequently – will be like a gummy paste. (you can do this stovetop if you are opposed to microwave)
  • Cool the flour and milk – must be cold before adding to remaining ingredients
  • Cream sugar, butter, and vanilla together until really fluffy
  • Add in the flour/milk and mix until it is the texture of whipped cream

** DO NOT refrigerate frosting before icing cake or  you will end up with a disaster. Ask my brother Thomas if you need to know what your cake will look like after. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 12:25 pm

    Very nice post.. the cupcakes look amazing.

  2. December 16, 2010 10:07 am

    I love mini cupcakes so much more than regular ones. And I feel like people are always more willing to eat multiple mini cupcakes as opposed to one big one. It’s mental.

    • December 16, 2010 4:23 pm

      I discovered at a party last year that everyone avoided the regular sized cupcakes and opted for the minis which is why I made all minis this time. 🙂

  3. January 23, 2011 6:28 pm

    The sugar free ones were excellent, and even better when heated about 15 seconds in the microwave.

Trackbacks

  1. Red Velvet Gooey Cake | It All Started With Mac And Cheese

Leave a Reply

