Skip to content

Cheesesteak Subs

February 5, 2011

Kris has been gone all week skiing and I wanted to make him yummy foods today to remember why he loves me. Ok, so that is probably a lie but I wanted to do something warm and delicious for lunch since it is a cold rainy day. I remembered how we used to split a Publix cheesesteak sub and knew that I wanted to give it a try. Living in the DC area I definitely go through Publix withdrawals, but I have to say my sub was almost as good and definitely healthier as I left out the oil/butter.

I’m sure this sandwich doesn’t really need a blog post as everyone could figure out how to make it, but I haven’t added anything in a while. Maybe you will make these for a superbowl party – could be fun in “slider” form as that is the craze these days.

Cheesesteak Subs

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb deli roast beef, thinly sliced or shaved
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 1/2 green pepper, sliced
  • Provolone cheese
  • 2 sandwich rolls
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • Salt/pepper
  • Condiments if desired

Directions:

  • Spray skillet with cooking spray and cook onions/peppers over medium high heat for a few minutes until they start to soften.
  • Reduce heat to medium and add in roast beef – tearing into smaller pieces as you add. Stir around with veggies as meat browns. Add a little olive oil spray to keep it from drying out and sticking. Season with salt and pepper.
  • When the roast beef is almost cooked, heat rolls on the skillet.
  • Next divide into 2 sandwich portions and top with cheese. Cover with a lid if you have one to help steam melt the cheese. Kris got 2 pieces of cheese and I cut one in half for mine to keep it a little healthier
  • Scoop into sub rolls and enjoy!

WW Points: 12 – I have been doing weight watchers lately so if any of my readers are following the plan, this sandwich with one piece of cheese is 12 points (of course varying with the bread you use)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

