Skip to content

Homemade Thin Mints

March 2, 2011

I have a crazy love for the Girl Scout Thin Mint cookies. I resisted buying a box this year but it has been extremely hard. 2 weeks ago I tried a recipe for a homemade version just to see if they come close to the real thing. While these are a pretty good cookie, they don’t even come close to the real thing.

It was hard to tell if you are overbaking the cookie since it is already brown, so I think I could’ve baked then a little shorter. The recipe also called for a good quality dark chocolate – I went with Hershey’s Special Dark since I preferred price over quality. šŸ™‚ I do think if I made these again I would try a milk chocolate for comparison.

I’m not sure I recommend going out and making these during the height of girl scout season, but maybe in September or October when you find that craving coming on with no option to buy them!

Homemade Thin Mints (recipe from http://www.bakingbites.com)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup milk (any kind)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp peppermint extract

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, whisk together flour, cornstarch, cocoa powder and salt.
  • In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. With the mixer on low speed, add in the milk and the extracts. Mixture will look curdled. Gradually, add in the flour mixture until fully incorporated.
  • Shape dough into two logs, about 1 1/2 inches (or about 4 cm) in diameter, wrap in plastic wrap and freeze for at least 1-2 hours, until dough is very firm.
  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Slice dough into rounds not more than 1/4 inch thick ā€“ if they are too thick, they will not be as crisp ā€“ and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Cookies will not spread very much, so you can put them quite close together.
  • Bake for 10-13 minutes, until cookies are firm at the edges. Cool cookies completely on a wire rack before dipping in chocolate.

Chocolate Ganache

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz dark or semisweet chocolate
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp

Directions:

  • In a microwave safe bowl, melt chocolate with butter. Melt on 30 to 45 second intervals, stirring in between until smooth.
  • I didn’t use a full stick of butter and I think my chocolate was a little too thick and not nearly enough for all cookies.
  • Dip each cookie in the chocolate and let harden on wax paper.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 7:43 am

    Those look pretty goods and I think Thin Mints are definitely my fave Girl Scout Cookies. I just found out that have doubled in price since I was a Girl Scout so its probably going to be good to know how to make them.

Leave a Reply

