Skip to content

Pecan Pie

May 22, 2011

Baking/cooking hasn’t been that fun for me lately, so I have been avoiding it. I did however find time to bake 3 pies for Derby day with my Aunt Sally. My dad and brother LOVE pecan pie, so I made sure to make two so there wouldn’t be a shortage. The third pie was a failure…I didn’t listen to my own instructions regarding how finicky Derby Pie can be, and when I cut into the pie to serve it was still raw inside! I did have success with the pecan pies though, and was glad I got the stamp of approval from my dad.

My mom’s pecan pie recipe comes from the Karo syrup bottle, so as long as you remember that when you are in the store you will always have an ingredient list handy.

Pecan Pie (makes 2 pies)

Ingredients:

  • 2 deep dish pie shells
  • 1 bottle light Karo syrup
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 T butter, melted
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • Pecans

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • In a mixing bowl, mix together Karo syrup, eggs, sugar, butter and vanilla in a mixing bowl.
  • Place pecans in the bottom of the pie shells. Use as many or as few as you like.
  • Pour the batter over the pecans, dividing evenly between the pie shells.
  • The pecans will float to the top and you can fill in any spots with additional pecans.
  • Bake for 60 to 70 minutes. The pie will get pretty dark on top and start to puff up in the middle.
  • If the crusts are getting too brown, cover with foil ring during baking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

