Skip to content

Gooey Butter Cake

June 15, 2011


I posted the recipe before for Chocolate Gooey Cake and I believe Pumpkin Gooey Cake, but I recently made the plain/vanilla version and figured why not share it as well. This is super easy and always a hit. I think next time, I might add some lemon to the cream cheese mixture to get a gooey lemon bar result.

Gooey Butter Cake or St. Louis Gooey Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 package yellow cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 sticks of butter – melted separately
  • 8oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 box (16oz) powdered sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • In large mixing bowl, combine cake mix with 1 stick melted butter and 1 egg. Press into the bottom of a 13×9 cake pan.
  • Use the same mixing bowl to then mix cream cheese with 2 eggs, 1 stick melted butter, powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth. Pour on top of cake mix crust.
  • Bake for 40 to 50 minutes – trying not to overbake. Cake will not be fully set in middle when done so that it stays gooey when cooled.
  • Top with dusted powdered sugar or serve with ice cream or whipped cream

Variations: Use this basic base to make any flavor – mix in chocolate chips, toffee bits, any candy bar, etc. Like I mentioned before, next time I will try adding lemon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly A permalink
    September 14, 2014 3:33 pm

    This was my all-time fav cake as a kid- My mom would make this for my Birthday every year- it’s still my all time fav cakes– I’m so glad I cam e upon your lovely blog- I’m in need of a really good chicken meal to make when my inlaws come to town next weekend! I really want to wow them- Do you have a fav chicken meal- if so please email– or post a comment w/ the link on my blog: http://kellyannstudio.blogspot.com/

    Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Peanut Butter Chocolate Gooey Cake « It All Started With Mac And Cheese
  2. It All Started With Mac And Cheese

Leave a Reply

