Skip to content

Aunt Sally’s Guacamole

June 16, 2011

I love mexican food and have been teased about it ever since I was 16 and spent a week in California with my dad’s family and ate mexican for nearly every meal. I spent the last two months at home in FL and made sure to get to my favorite restaurant Tijuana Flats as often as possible (it is probably good for my waistline that we have moved to Iowa where there is not a lot of mexican food). One strange food quirk about me is that I do not like guacamole…odd I know. Since I know it is popular with everyone else, and I aim to please, I am sharing with you my Aunt Sally’s simple and easy recipe that is always a hit. (She is also the creator of Wet Tacos – one of my favorite easy mexican recipes!!)

Sally’s Guacamole

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe avocados – I read a tip that an avocado should have the same softness/firmness as when you press gently on your nose, and if you pull off the stem it should be green on the underside, not brown.
  • 1 T mayo
  • 1/2 bottle or so of green taco sauce – we used La Victoria brand
  • Lemon juice
  • Garlic salt – to taste

Directions:

  • Mash avocado and add in remaining ingredients. Taste as you go to judge what you like – you can always add more but can’t take away right?
  • Serve with chips or as a garnish.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

