Skip to content

Oreo Cake

June 24, 2011

Kendra and Steven are coming to visit this weekend so I of course had to bake a treat. I figured I would update an old recipe and try something new. I made a chocolate and an oreo swiss buttercream. Using my regular chocolate buttercream recipe, I added in crushed oreos instead of the melted chocolate. I suppose you could add both to make it an extreme chocolate oreo cake! I used 2 rows of cookies from the package for the crushed cookies and then added some around the bottom edge for decoration.

In full disclosure, I’m not sure this is my favorite chocolate cake recipe (it seemed a little bit dry) so if you have a favorite please share with me! You can always just make a box cake mix (which I often do). A tip I learned for box cake mixes is to substitute the water called for in the directions with buttermilk…give it a try!

Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb butter
  • 1 c Ghirardelli sweet ground chocolate
  • 3 c sifted cake flour
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 c buttermilk
  • 1 T vanilla

Directions:

  • Melt butter and then stir in chocolate; cool to room temp
  • Sift together all dry ingredients and stir together in large mixing bowl
  • In a smaller bowl, whisk eggs lightly then stir in buttermilk and vanilla.
  • Combing egg mixture with dry ingredients, slowly, stirring with large whisk or a mixer
  • Add in chocolate mixture and blend well but try not to overbeat
  • Pour batter into greased and floured cake pans (should make 3 layers of a 10 in cake)
  • Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. I think my cakes took longer, maybe 40-45 for the 8 in and 30-25 for the 6 in.
  • Allow cakes to cool before removing from pans, torting, frosting. I stuck mine in the freezer for about an hour before removing from pans. It makes it easier to cut the cakes if they are cold!

 

Swiss Buttercream

Ingredients:

  • 5 large egg whites
  • 1 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 4 sticks unsalted butter, room temp
  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate, melted and cooled  – I omitted this and added in the oreos (I have also used melted Andes mints and they made a delicious frosting, in fact they would be awesome with oreos!)

Directions: (If you want to see picture of the steps, refer to this post on my old blog)

  • In the bowl of a stand mixer (or large mixing bowl), combine egg whites and sugar. Place bowl over a saucepan of simmering water (double boiler style). Whisk continuously until mixture reaches 160 degrees, about 5 minutes.
  • Transfer bowl to the stand mixer and beat egg whites on high until they become thick and fluffy and cooled (the bowl will no longer be warm to the touch). This will take about 10 minutes (I time it out) hence the importance of the stand mixer.
  • Reduce speed to medium and add in butter one tablespoon at a time. If your frosting starts to look soupy or curdled, just keep whipping it will come together.
  • Reduce speed to low and add in oreos (or melted chocolate if you are using).
  • Frost your cake!
  • You can store this in the refrigerator, just make sure to allow it to come to room temperature before frosting and you may need to re-whip it a little with the mixer.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. falena perry permalink
    June 25, 2011 9:32 pm

    I wish the like button included a sample taste 🙂

    • June 26, 2011 6:30 pm

      I wish I could send you some but have a feeling it wouldn’t mail too well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

