Skip to content

Brownies and Mocha Frosting

June 26, 2011

I recently read The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook and have always been a fan of her blog. I can’t wait to read her novel too! I posted the Chicken Spaghetti and now wanted to share with you as well her delicious brownie recipe. It was definitely a huge mistake for me to make these last week, so if you have zero willpower like me you shouldn’t try this recipe. I loved this frosting so much I may start using it as my go to chocolate frosting, instead of the recipe on the Hershey’s cocoa box.

I made a few adaptions – first I used a boxed brownie mix to save time and I had one on hand but can’t wait to try this scratch recipe sometime. Second, I did not add the “mocha” to the frosting as I can’t stand anything coffee related. Just substitute milk for the coffee if you want just chocolate. I also halved the recipe and it was still a thick layer of frosting, but I am giving you the full printed recipe below.

Brownies

Ingredients:

  • Four 1 oz squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 sticks butter (softened)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3 t vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 c all purpose flour

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325. Grease 8 inch square baking pan.
  • Place chocolate squares in microwave safe bowl. Melt in 30 second increments, stirring in between each one and being careful not to burn. Let cool slightly.
  • In mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Beat in eggs.
  • With mixer on low speed, add in melted chocolate and then vanilla. Mix to incorporate.
  • Add flour and mix until just combined, don’t overmix.
  • Pour batter into greased pan and spread it out evenly.
  • Bake for 45 to 50 minutes or until the center is no longer soft.
  • Cool completely before icing.

Mocha Frosting (I halved this and it was PLENTY so you be the judge on how much you make!)

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 5 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder (half = 4 T)
  • 1/4 t salt (I didn’t add salt since I used salted butter)
  • 3 t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup brewed coffee, cooled to room temperature (use milk if you prefer)

Directions:

  • In mixing bowl, combine butter, powdered sugar, cocoa, salt and vanilla.
  • Mix until slightly combined and then add 1/2 cup of coffee or milk.
  • Whip until icing is desired consistency…you want it to be light and fluffy. Add additional 1/4 cup coffee/milk if icing is too thick.
  • Spread the icing over the cooled brownies and then refrigerate until the icing is firm.

**I knew I would love this recipe the minute she called for refrigerating the brownies as I think every brownie is better cold. 🙂 Next time I will add the coffee so I avoid eating them!!

Leave a Reply

