Skip to content

White Chicken Parmesan

July 22, 2011

This might be my new favorite chicken recipe. This recipe comes from a family friend, Mrs. Marra, who made it for our family a couple months ago. I am just now getting around to making it myself, and I am glad I did! It smelled so great while baking I couldn’t wait for the hour to be up. The cream of chicken soup and sour cream make a great sauce to top with when serving, and the chicken is extra tender having sauteed in this mixture for an hour. I’m going to be bold and say I like it even better than the White Chicken I’ve posted before…plus it is easier. I hope you try this soon as I’m sure it will become a new favorite for you too. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow…and I am typically not a fan of leftovers. 🙂

White Chicken Parmesan

Ingredients:

  • 8 boneless skinless chicken breast (I used 6 as that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 cup Ritz cracker crumbs (one sleeve)
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/2 cup melted butter (I took this to mean 1 stick, so I used half a stick and will experiment with eventually cutting the butter out all together)
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup (I used 98% fat free as always)
  • 8 oz lite sour cream
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 lb mushrooms sliced and sauteed in a little butter (I didn’t have any but they are a great addition)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Combine cracker crumbs, parmesan and melted butter in a dish.
  • Roll dry chicken breasts in mixture and place in a greased 13×9 baking dish.
  • Combine soup, sour cream, water and mushrooms and pour mixture on top of chicken.
  • Top with remaining crumbs.
  • Bake for 1 hour uncovered.
  • Note: this can be assembled ahead of time – just refrigerate and bake later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 8:58 am

    OOh this looks really good. I also made the other white chicken recipe you had so I might have to try this one too.

Leave a Reply

