Skip to content

Eclair Cake

September 17, 2011

This eclair cake is one of my new favorite recipes! It combines 3 things I love…pudding, graham crackers, and chocolate. Recently I was really craving some cream puffs/eclairs and had been reading about making them, when I remembered I had this recipe that would be much easier and healthier.

I made this in the afternoon and ate it that night for dessert, but Kris and I both agree it was better the next day so try to make it the night before and resist if you can (easier said than done). I also made a half version of the recipe which I certainly won’t do again as I wanted more!

I’m providing you with 2 frosting recipes. I used the first one when making it but will try the second next time. They are just ever so slightly different and I want to see which is my favorite.

Eclair Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 box graham crackers
  • 2 boxes instant vanilla or french vanilla pudding (I used sugar/fat free)
  • 3 cups milk
  • 1 8oz container cool whip

Directions:

  • Line a 9×13 casserole dish with a layer of graham crackers
  • With an electric mixer, mix up pudding and milk. It is my personal opinion that pudding is best if you make it in a blender – it is the only way I can ever get it completely lump free.
  • Fold cool whip into the pudding. I actually had some leftover heavy cream from a cheesecake recipe, so I whipped the cream and used it instead of using cool whip. I will use cool whip in the future though to keep it more waist friendly.
  • Pour pudding over graham crackers and top with another layer of graham crackers.
  • Top with chocolate frosting and refrigerate.

Chocolate Frosting #1

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 t vanilla

Directions:

  • In a small saucepan, mix together cocoa, sugar and milk over medium heat. Boil for a minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in butter and vanilla. Allow to cool a few minutes before pouring over cake.
  • Note: this could be done in the microwave instead of stovetop

Chocolate Frosting #2

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 3 T butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 t light corn syrup
  • 2 t vanilla

Directions:

  • In a mixing bowl, blend together sugar and cocoa. Mix in butter and milk.
  • Add corn syrup and vanilla. Stir until creamy and then cover cake with the frosting.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    September 30, 2011 7:36 pm

    we’ll be trying this one too…i think shaun drooled when he got a look @ this one! haha.

Leave a Reply

