Skip to content

How to Make a Cookie Cutter

September 20, 2011

I have been in a really crafty mood lately and sort of wish I could have a career where I just build things all day. My latest creation is my own metal cookie cutter!! I must say I sort of even surprised myself with this one after my first attempt didn’t work. I was so focused I didn’t take pictures throughout, but will do my best to describe the process.

Here’s how I got myself into this project: My sister-in-law is getting married next summer and I wanted to make her some fun UNC cookies for her reception. I have made cookies in the past where you just cut the design out of paper and trace around it with a knife on the cookie dough, but with all the curves in the UNC logo that would be way too time consuming. After googling how to make a cookie cutter, I combined a few different ideas into this one. It took me 2 attempts but I put a few days in between making them so I didn’t get frustrated. 🙂

What you will need:

  • Large round cookie cutter – I actually used a heart because the store didn’t have any circles. Get the cheapo kind that bends easily from your local craft store (Michaels, JoAnns, etc)
  • Pipe cleaners
  • 2 sharpies – different colors
  • Pliers
  • Design of your choice
  • Patience

Step 1:

  • Take your cookie cutter and wrap a pipe cleaner around it (adding another or cutting it) so that it fits the exact size.
  • Next, print out your design and size it to be similar to the size of your cookie cutter, keeping in mind it needs to be smaller as you will have to bend the metal to get the design. This took a little trial and error getting the right size, which is why you have your pipe cleaners to play with.
  • Bend the pipe cleaners into the shape of the outline of your design.
  • Use the picture as your guide, making sure to line up the pipe cleaners with the design to ensure you are getting the right angles, etc.
  • My picture shows a first attempt that was too small, but you get the idea.

Step 2:

  • If you are satisfied with your pipe cleaner design, grab your 2 markers.
  • Use the markers to put a dot on your pipe cleaner every place there is a bend. Use the different colors so that you know if the bend is inward or outward (I used red for inward, black for outward).

Step 3:

  • Wrap the marked pipe cleaner around the cookie cutter and put the dots on the cutter to match the dots on the pipe cleaner.
  • Take your pliers and make bends every place you put a dot. Make sure to remember which direction your color means!!
  • This picture shows my first failed attempt and I had tried to do it again which is why there are so many kinks. It will look more like your end design than mine does.

Step 4:

  • Once you have all of your bends in, take your time shaping the cookie cutter until it is just right. This took a little time and patience and to be honest I thought it would never work right even the second time around. Just keep playing with it and hopefully yours will work too.


Here is the end result of my cookies. I made the mistake of not outlining them with a darker color so I had to go back and add it. Good thing this was just a practice run as I won’t make the cookies until next summer (June 2012). I will make sure to keep this cookie cutter safe though as I don’t want to make it again!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise Perry permalink
    September 20, 2011 8:46 pm

    I’m super impressed! Did you buy a cutter for the awesome UK cookies for John Clay & Ashley’s wedding? They were great tasting & looking!

    • September 21, 2011 8:11 am

      No I didnt use a cutter for the UK cookies. I will send you a link to how I made those.

  2. Sarah C permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:09 pm

    Emily…this turned out perfect! U are making me feel crafty…I will have to try this someday…thx for sharing your talented work 🙂

  3. Kendra permalink
    September 20, 2011 11:57 pm

    You’re the best! And I am so impressed, the cookies look incredible! I had no idea you made the cookie cutter too

  4. September 21, 2011 7:33 am

    Wow that came out really nice. I mean it’d be a lot better if it was NC State instead of UNC but still, they look good.

  5. Aunt Sally permalink
    September 21, 2011 7:28 pm

    Awesome Em. They look great and they probably taste great. Was wondering why you have been so quiet lately!

Leave a Reply

