Skip to content

Chocolate Panel Bars

October 10, 2011

I made these last week to take to a wine and knit night I’ve been attending in an attempt to make friends. These bars were certainly a hit! It is a recipe I’ve had for a long time now but I never remember to make them. It is the closest thing I’ve made to my favorite Potbelly Dream Bar too! Next time I change up the filling and add in some caramel to make it more dream bar like. I also made these thick in a 13×9 pan, but think I might try a sheet pan next in order to make them a little thinner. Hope you try these soon!

Chocolate Panel Bars

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 2½ cups flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt
  • 3 cups quick oatmeal

Filling:

  • 12 oz. Chocolate chips
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 cup walnuts (I left out)
  • ½ t salt
  • 15 oz can sweetened condensed milk (I had the fat free on hand and it worked just fine – not that it makes much of a difference with this recipe!)
  • 2 t vanilla

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Cream butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Mix in eggs and vanilla.
  • In a separate bowl, sift flour, soda, and salt together. Add in oatmeal.
  • Mix dry ingredients into creamed butter/sugar and combine.
  • Filling: Combine chocolate chips, milk, butter, and salt in double boiler until melted. When chocolate mixture is smooth, add nuts and vanilla
  • Spread 2/3 oat mixture in greased 13×9 pan or sheet pan
  • Cover with chocolate mixture
  • Dot with remaining oatmeal mixture – I also pressed it down a little to make sure it would be flatter but I doubt it matters.
  • Bake 25 to 30 minutes (I did 25 and they were perfect)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

