Skip to content

Guilt-Free Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

November 14, 2011

Soup weather is here and I have been craving delicious creamy restaurant style soups. I wanted to attempt chicken and rice but without the guilt. I didn’t really find any great recipes online so just tried to merge a few ideas together. This hit the spot for me and I hope you will enjoy it too. It is definitely not as creamy/silky as other soups, but then again I didn’t add any fats or cream.

In addition to being healthy, I’m excited as I was able to make this soup without heading to the grocery store for ingredients! I’m trying to make an effort to use what I have in the pantry and freezer. I always try to keep diced onions and celery bagged up in the freezer to throw into recipes when needed, as well as shredded cooked chicken. My one missing ingredient was carrots, and I do think they would make this soup even better.

Guilt-Free Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1/4 t minced garlic
  • 1 chicken breast, cooked and diced or shredded
  • 2 cans chicken broth
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup rice (I used long-grain white, but next time might try arborio)
  • 2/3 cup skim milk
  • 3 T flour
  • Pepper (even I didn’t salt this as there is enough salt in the broth)

Directions:

  • Saute onion, carrots, and celery in stock pot. I don’t add any oil/butter and just let them cook, but feel free to add some if you must. Once they are tender, add in garlic and cook for a minute.
  • Stir in broth and rice and bring to a boil. Add any seasonings now like pepper or additional flavors you may like.
  • Reduce heat, cover and cook for about 15 to 20 minutes until rice is done.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together milk and flour so there are no lumps. Stir into soup and bring to a boil. Cook and stir for a few minutes until the soup thickens.
  • Add in the chicken and allow to heat throughout. Serve and enjoy!

Next time I may experiment with adding in a mashed baked potato for extra thickness…that would require cooking a potato so it was too much effort for me today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

