Skip to content

Strawberry Gooey Cake

March 3, 2013

IMG_1078

It appears this gooey cake theme is officially on with my blog. Maybe I will make it a challenge for this year – let’s say 25 versions of gooey cake by the end of the year.  So far here are the ones I’ve made:

Vanilla Gooey Cake

Chocolate Gooey Cake

Pumpkin Gooey Cake

Chocolate Peanut Butter Gooey Cake

German Chocolate Gooey Cake

The latest version is strawberry. I simply used the vanilla recipe and replaced it with a strawberry cake mix.  I think this one definitely has room for improvement as it tasted a little artificial to me, but everyone at my office loved it.  I would like to somehow make it like I do my regular strawberry cake, so stay tuned for any adaptations to this flavor.

Strawberry Gooey Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 package strawberry cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 sticks of butter – melted separately
  • 8oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 box (16oz) powdered sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • In large mixing bowl, combine cake mix with 1 stick melted butter and 1 egg. Press into the bottom of a greased 13×9 cake pan.
  • In a large mixing bowl (I always use the same one that I just did the cake mix in without cleaning it) beat the cream cheese until smooth.  Mix in 2 eggs, 1 stick melted butter, powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth.
  • Pour cream cheese mixture on top of cake mix crust and spread evenly.
  • Bake for 40 to 50 minutes – trying not to overbake.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

