Skip to content

Chicken Noodles

March 10, 2013

Photo 1

This is one recipe I have picked up on since living in good ole Iowa. My friend brought her leftovers to work for lunch one day and I knew I had to recreate them. I’ve learned it is basically a thickened chicken noodle soup or close to chicken and dumplings. My friend shared with me her grandmother’s recipe and while mine turn out different each time, they are still delicious.  This is one of those recipes I just keep adding things until it works, but I discovered The Pioneer Woman has a recipe so I will give you her proportions.

I took a short cut this time by using a rotisserie chicken and then saved the bones to simmer to make a more flavorful broth.  You could use the rotisserie chicken and canned broth too to make it even easier. I also discovered the greatness of chicken base in this recipe. I had never heard of it before, but it adds a wonderful and stronger flavor than broth or bouillon ever could.

Chicken Noodles (recipe adapted from an IA grandma and The Pioneer Woman)

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken (or use pre-cut pieces)
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • Salt/Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon Turmeric
  • 2 chicken bouillon cubes (optional)
  • Chicken base (optional but highly recommended)
  • 16 ounces, Frozen Egg Noodles (I used Reames brand)
  • 3 to 4 T flour

Directions:

  • Cover chicken in 4 quarts water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer for 30 minutes.
  • Remove chicken from pot and pick meat from the bones. Return bones to broth and add in 2 chicken bouillon cubes, if using. Simmer on medium low to low for about 45 minutes.
  • Remove bones from broth with a strainer or slotted spoon, making sure to get all of them!
  • Add the carrots, celery and onions to the pot, as well as salt and pepper. This is when I added 2 big spoonfuls of chicken base. Stir to combine and simmer for ten minutes to meld flavors.
  • Increase heat and add frozen egg noodles and chicken. Cook for 8 to 10 minutes.
  • Mix flour and a little water. Stir until smooth. Pour into soup, stir to combine, and simmer for another 5 minutes, or until broth thickens a bit. Test and adjust seasonings as needed. If it gets too thick, add more water. If not thick enough, add more flour/water.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

