Skip to content

Blueberry Crumb Bars

July 15, 2015

photo 1Kris recently went blueberry picking so I figured I needed to bake something new. This is a very easy recipe and tasted great!

Blueberry Crumb Bars ( recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 cup cold butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 t salt (I omitted as I used salted butter)
  • Zest and juice of one lemon
  • 4 cups fresh blueberries (I think I used closer to 6)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 4 t cornstarch

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375. Grease a 9×13 pan.
  • In mixing bowl, combine 1 cup white sugar, flour, baking powder, lemon zest and salt. Blend in butter and egg with a pastry cutter or fork (I took a shortcut and used the food processor). Mixture will be crumbly. Pat half of the dough into the baking pan in an even layer, saving the other half for the topping.
  • In another bowl, stir together 1/2 cup sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice. Gently mix in blueberries. Sprinkle the blueberries in an even layer over the crust, and then crumble the remaining dough on top.
  • Bake for 45 minutes (mine took 55 min) until top crust is golden colored.
  • Cool completely and cut into squares. I allowed them to chill in the refrigerator first and they cut perfectly.

photo 2

One Comment leave one →
  1. Toni permalink
    July 15, 2015 4:34 pm

    Very nice Emily….I went blueberry picking in Clermont in June…still have some in fridge….I will make this!

Leave a Reply

