Skip to content

Best Tomato Sauce 

April 7, 2017

 

This is a super easy tomato sauce recipe I found on the NY Times cooking page. I shared it with a couple friends and apparently they have been making it for years. It comes from the famous Italian cookbook writer Marcella Hazan, so now I am going to have to check out all of her cookbooks.

This sauce has a rich tomato flavor not masked by seasonings and I think it is best to splurge on the more expensive San Marzano tomatoes. Three ingredients and 45 minutes for an amazing sauce…can’t get much better than that (well maybe by adding meatballs you can 😉).

Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz can whole peeled tomatoes (San Marzano are best)
  • 1 onion, peeled and cut in half
  • 5 tbsps butter (I often use a little less)
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

  • Combine the tomatoes, onion halves and butter in a saucepan. Add a pinch or two of salt. I typically crush the tomatoes in my hands as I add to saucepan but not required.
  • Place over medium heat and cook, uncovered, for about 45 minutes. Stir occasionally, breaking up large pieces of tomatoes with the spoon or a potato masher.
  • Discard the onion before tossing with pasta. At this point I will use my immersion blender to purée the sauce, but it’s great chunky too. Use your personal preference here.
  • I often make a large batch and freeze the leftovers. 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

