Skip to content

Individual Chocolate Souffles

February 13, 2011

I have always wanted to make souffles, so I figured might as well try for a Valentine’s treat. I found this recipe on the Weight Watchers website and when I read that it used chocolate milk as an ingredient I was sold! Since I don’t think I have ever had a “real” chocolate souffle I didn’t have anything to compare these to, but they were light, fluffy and chocolatey. A perfect treat with only 3 points!

Individual Chocolate Souffles (recipe from Weight Watchers)

Ingredients:

  • 1 T unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 T all purpose flour
  • 3 T sugar, divided
  • 3 T low-fat chocolate milk
  • 1 large egg white
  • Powdered sugar or cool whip for garnish

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350. Coat 2 small ramekins (6oz) with cooking spray.
  • In a small bowl, combine cocoa, flour and 2 T sugar.
  • Whisk in milk. Heat in microwave 30 seconds and whisk. Repeat until smooth (I only did it once). Cool for about 5 minutes.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk egg white until soft peaks start to form. Add in remaining 1 T sugar, and continue to beat until soft to medium peaks form.
  • Fold in cooled chocolate mixture to egg whites, until no white streaks appear. I was afraid I would deflate the egg whites too much so had a few white pockets in my final product, but it was fine.
  • Pour mixture into ramekins.
  • Bake for 14-16 minutes (mine took 14). Souffles will rise above edges of ramekin and look slightly dry.
  • Serve warm. Note: after removed from oven mine slowly deflated – not knowing much about souffles I assume this is normal.

No comments yet

Leave a comment